Against sentimentalism.

Me: Now go to sleep, you sleepy bunny.

Rooby: I’m not a bunny!

Me: Oh. Go to sleep, you sleepy little girl.

Rooby: No, I’m not a “little girl.” I’m Rooby.

Me: So you are.

Rooby: I’m your daughter.

Me: Yes, you’re my daughter.

Rooby: What would you do if you didn’t have a daughter?

Me: I think I would be very sad.

Rooby: If you didn’t know where I was?

Me: Yes, that would make me very sad.

Rooby: And Baba would be very sad? If he didn’t have a daughter?

Me: Yes, I think he would be. He would miss you.

Rooby: But Mama.

Me: Yes?

Rooby: Some people do not have daughters.

Me: That’s true. And they’re just fine, aren’t they?

Rooby: Yes. They are. 

Leave a Reply

