In which Lady Z achieves fame, of a sort.

Yesterday: my parents, sister K, and I spent the late afternoon at the Met, taking in the treasures of the Qing imperial palace before they return to the Forbidden City. Viewing the recreation of the Qianlong Emperor’s Studio of Exhaustion from Diligent Service, I wondered if perhaps he and I might have understood each other after all. On our way out, crossing 5th Ave, K snaps a few shots of the blossoms on the corner–she has discovered an affinity for magnolias, and this has become a kind of theme for the week, what with all the trees in bloom, not to mention our pilgrimage to the Magnolia Bakery downtown for cupcakes. “Gena’s head is in this one,” she says. “I like it–it’s like we were really here.” “One day when I’m famous it will be worth a lot,” I point out. “You’re already famous to me,” my dad says.

2 thoughts on “In which Lady Z achieves fame, of a sort.

Leave a Reply

