Recommendation round-up.

The beginning of the semester is kicking my ass, y’all!  I have had nary a moment to procrastinate in style these two weeks.  I’ve watched some great movies (hello, RoboCop 2) and some crazy ones (Encounters at the End of the World, I’m looking at you—am I the very last person to discover that Werner Herzog is TOTALLY FLIPPIN BONKERS?) but have had no time to review.  I have been writing up bureaucratic CV Updates and Activity Reports.  I have been proposing my book.  (Anyone want to publish my book?)  I have been teaching Samuel Johnson.  My students and I collectively decided that Johnson invented the panopticon as a model for a literate society decades before Bentham conceived it as a prison.  I also read them a section from "The Vanity of Human Wishes" that instantaneously crushed all their little dreams of pursuing intellectual grandeur in grad school.  I didn’t even have to mention the absolutely dismal news gushing daily from the front lines of the academic job market!  I don’t like to talk about that stuff because, you know, I got a job.

So instead of really writing anything, I thought I’d cheat and fill some space with recommendations.  These are all tried and true methods of Killing Time on the Internet, endorsed by Lady Z.

1. Sleep Talkin’ Man.  If you know what the internet is, you have already heard of this latest viral phenomenon.  But maybe you haven’t read it because you want to be cooler than everyone else.  STOP BEING COOL.  It is very, very funny.

2. The Oatmeal.  Comics that entertain AND teach you useful things like How To Tell If Your Cat Is Trying To Kill You.  I especially recommend Punchline Aliens.

3. A Journey Round My Skull.  This is maybe my absolute favorite blog.  I save up new posts in Google Reader as a reward for scrolling through things like news.  It describes itself as "Unhealthy book fetishism from a reader, collector, and amateur historian of forgotten literature." High-res scans of covers and illustrations from books you’d never see elsewhere, except maybe in the back of the secret Awesome Room of a forgotten Eastern European bookseller’s. 

4. Slaughterhouse 90210.  Sometimes I cannot believe I don’t write this blog myself.  It seems to come from my very soul.

5. FYCL Podcast.  Two awesome ladies get together by phone once a week, have a drink, and talk about stuff like feminism and cooking and life.  They also review Dubious Sex Toys.  They gather questions from their readers and discuss them intelligently.  Twice now they have read and answered questions from me.  SJ blogs at I, Asshole (which I’ve plugged in the Salon before) and The Egg at What Ladder?.  I KIND OF STALK THEM, OK?  You can subscribe to the podcast through iTunes.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I have actual things to do.  ANYONE WANNA PUBLISH MY BOOK?

5 thoughts on “Recommendation round-up.

  1. 1. I went to a karaoke bar the other day.
    2. I bought the McSweeney’s newspaper & magazine, and the magazine has an article on a gay man and his husband going to a NASCAR race. It’s great.
    3. The Oatmeal is awesome.

Leave a Reply

