Dear Hertz.

I present the full text of the letter I had to go BACK to the office, from home, to fax to Hertz before the end of the workday.  The “issue”?  I returned a rental car before catching a 6am flight out of Richmond, the people working at the rental car counter at the airport never processed the returned car, and since then I’ve received 1-3 calls a day on my cell phone from a robot informing me that I still have a vehicle that I obviously do not have.

April 17, 2009

To: The Hertz Corporation
Re: rental #XXXXXXXX

Please find attached my itinerary from my recent trip to Richmond, VA, booked through Priceline.com, and my reservation at the Hilton Garden Inn, which was for March 26-29, 2009.  I have been asked to provide documentation “proving” that I left Richmond on March 29 as part of an ongoing inquiry into an “issue” with the car I returned to Hertz at the Richmond airport at 4am on March 29, 2009.  You are welcome to follow up on the details of my travel with Delta Airlines at 800-221-1212 and The Hilton Garden Inn, Richmond at 804-344-4300.

Since March 29, I have been inundated with daily phone calls and voice mail messages from Hertz, most of them left by an automated message service, because the Richmond branch failed to process the return of the vehicle properly.  I have spoken with three different representatives at the number provided in these automated messages, two of whom apologized for a “strange issue” they were having with the Richmond Hertz manager, and one of whom assured me the issue would be “resolved immediately.”  It obviously was not.  Today I discovered that the Richmond Hertz charged my American Express card $1,121.79 despite my repeated attempts to inform the company that the car was returned on the date it was due and that I was back in Arkansas as of the afternoon of March 29.  That makes at least four employees of the Hertz Corporation not doing their job, with the result that I am taking time out of my workday to compile superfluous proofs of my whereabouts and write this letter.

After speaking with yet another representative from Hertz, I have provided the documentation your company requires to complete your resolution of this clerical error.  In addition, I have reported the charge to American Express, which is conducting its own investigation into the “issue” at the Richmond Hertz.  Normally I would expect, at the very least, an apology and a free rental for being put through this absurd ordeal, but I assure you I want nothing to do with Hertz Car Rentals ever again.

Sincerely,
Lady Z

Leave a Reply

