Lady Z recommends.

As my closest friends know, and as NKB can confirm following her recent Arkansan adventure, I have a severe addiction to bath and body product, and minty ones in particular. I recently stocked up on old favorites and made some new discoveries, so I thought I’d share.

Minty bath products are fantastic year-round. In the summer they cool you off; in the winter, they relieve the perennial head-cold. I also swear by an extended minty shower as hangover treatment. I particularly recommend the following:

Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Liquid Soap: This classic Dr. B’s is a staple of my shower stock. We always have a bottle in there. D won’t wash with anything else since I introduced him to it. Dr. B’s is great for travel, too, because you can use it as a shampoo, hand wash laundry detergent, and surface cleaner as well. I will add that some people find Dr. B’s Peppermint a little intense for more intimate personal cleansing, so unless you’re up for some kinky clean, proceed with caution.

Stress Relief Sugar Scrub in Tranquil Mint: part of Bath & Body Works’ aromatherapy line, this scrub is possibly the best thing B&B Works has ever done. The essential oils base is deeply minty and leaves you feeling tingly and fresh. I also like the Body Wash and Lotion in this scent, which is refreshing without being medicinal.

C. O. Bigelow Mentha Hair Mint-Infused Invigorating Shampoo and Conditioner: C. O. Bigelow’s classic apothecary in New York’s West Village is one of my favorite hometown indulgences, and I was delighted when B&B Works started carrying their signature line in their stores. Minty shampoo is a necessary everyday luxury.

Aveda Rosemary Mint Shampoo and Conditioner: my staple hair care products before Bigelow joined the minty hair industry. These products smell so delicious you will want to eat them. I do not recommend that, but they are fantastic for hair washing.

5 thoughts on “Lady Z recommends.

  1. I discovered Dr. B’s soap because the women of the swim team used it and they hit the showers after the morning laps about the same time I did after my morning whatever it is that I do. You are so totally right, that I might have to go try these other products.

    Thanks!

  2. I love the Dr. B’s and wash all my clothes in it. I like to use the almond in the shower though.

    And the Aveda rosemary mint has always been my favorite, but there’s no place around here that sells it anymore. Boo.

Leave a Reply

