Jim Davis gets it! Also, how to mock the damned post-Rapture.

According to the NYTimes, Jim Davis is a fan of Garfield Minus Garfield:

Jim Davis, the cartoonist who created “Garfield,” calls himself an occasional reader of the site, which he calls “fascinating.” He says he is flattered rather than peeved by the imitation.

“Some of them really work, and some of them work better,” Mr. Davis said in a telephone interview.

“I think it’s the body of work that makes me laugh — the more you read of these strips, the funnier it gets,” Mr. Davis said. As for Garfield himself, “this makes a compelling argument that maybe he doesn’t need to be there. Less is more.”

As I’ve said before, Garfield Minus Garfield is one of the most brilliant things I’ve come across recently. I read it every day.

In other news, Wired informs us that YouveBeenLeftBehind.com, a website that allows you to send email to your unsaved friends after the Rapture to let them know that they are going to hell and you are not, is For Reals. From YouveBeenLeftBehind.com:

We all have family and friends who have failed to receive the Good News of the Gospel. The unsaved will be “left behind” on earth to go through the “tribulation period” after the “Rapture”. You remember how, for a short time, after (9/11/01) people were open to spiritual things and answers. (We are still singing “God Bless America” at baseballs’ seventh inning stretch.) Imagine how taken back they will be by the millions of missing Christians and devastation at the rapture. They will know it was true and that they have blown it.

It goes on to say that emails sent from the site are intended to court those left behind during their “small window” of opportunity to join the saved. It seems to this reader, however, that the best use of this service is merely to mock non-believers with an “I told you so,” as if enduring the apocalypse and facing eternal damnation were not devastating enough for them. At least that’s what I’d use it for … which is probably why I’ll be left behind in the first place.

And yes, I do get ALL of my information from The Morning News.

7 thoughts on “Jim Davis gets it! Also, how to mock the damned post-Rapture.

  1. So if these messages are supposed to go out after The Rapture, how are we guaranteed that this will still be possible? And, if so, that our poor lost loved ones will even be around to log onto their computers and check their email? I don’t know about you, but if I looked out my window and saw Famine, Pestilence, Death and War riding in my direction, not mention a beast with 7 heads and 10 horns, I don’t think I’d stop to check my email!

    • To offer a counter-opinion, I probably would. I mean, I could have something important waiting for me. Also, I’d need to check the blogs, webcomics, and news aggregators that I routinely read–these would also be good places to taunt me, post-Rapture.

Leave a Reply

