In which Lady Z says yes.

This is another one of those rare special posts for my LiveJournal peeps, who are, I realize at moments like this, more in touch with the ebb and flow of my personal life than just about anyone else I know, despite the fact that I’ve met very few of you face to face. But the fact is that you’ve been with me through the completion of my dissertation, my first job as a professor, my second (and first tenure-track) job as a professor, two major moves, one major break-up, and countless little life moments in between, and now you’re some of the first to know that I’m getting married.

D unexpectedly popped the question this past weekend, during a cookout at our house with both sets of parents attendant. Everyone knew it was coming except for me. Apparently the fathers were both a little worried I might say no.

But I didn’t.

The picture of the ring is lousy, but it’s the best I can do right now. It belonged to his great-grandmother, and it’s beautiful.

22 thoughts on “In which Lady Z says yes.

  1. 1) Wow! Many, many congratulations! I hope you two love being married as much as we fools do.

    2) You have beautiful hands! (Or at least one. The other one could be really hideous for all I know.)

  2. Oh, I’m so very, very happy for you both!!! This is so much fun!! Is there a date?

    Thank you for sharing this with us!!!

    The ring is absolutely gorgeous. And how special that it has sentimental value!!!

  3. Felicitations of joy! Have you set a date?

    The ring looks lovely, but you’re right. . . we need a close up, crisp shot so we can oooh and aaah over it! 😉

  4. How wonderful! Best wishes to you both.

    The ring looks beautiful, as does the hand it’s on. Antique jewelry is so lovely, and how nice to have the family connection along with it.

  5. Gasp! That’s fabulous! I can’t believe that’s your actual hand — I thought it was from a catalogue!

    And what a pretty, pretty ring!

    So happy for you. Conga Rats.

  6. I think it is safe to say that you were the only one to not know. Even I knew and I’m rarely in Arkansas. That said, Congratulations!

    I’m very excited fer youse kids.
    -ramey

  7. Oh! Oh! Many many congratulations, and best wishes for a bright future.

    I look forward to reading your future reports on the madness that is “planning a wedding.”

Leave a Reply

