It’s Saturday night and I have a crush on Carson McCullers.

Ali Smith’s Guardian piece on Carson McCullers confirms McCullers as one of My Very Favorite Writers Whose Books I’ve Never Read.

“Carson burdened everybody who got close to her,” Lillian Hellman said. “She was vain, querulous and a genius,” Vidal said. But there are very few literary figures who could have two figures such as Marilyn Monroe and the Danish writer Isak Dinesen over for lunch, as she did in 1959, sparking rumours of how well the unlikely pair danced together, and how well she’d danced on the table herself.

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter is going to the top of my reading list; I’ll get to it as soon as I finish The Golden Notebook.

4 thoughts on “It’s Saturday night and I have a crush on Carson McCullers.

  1. I think you’ll like it. Looking forward to your review of it.

    Have you read Capote’s letters edited by Gerald Clarke? He’s got some wonderfully bitchy stuff about McCullers in it.

  2. Carson McCullers was my first literary obsession, back in high school. I read quite a good biography of her for an in-depth paper I wrote (in-depth for back then, anyway) about her work.

    Wow, I wish I could read her work for the first time again. I envy you.

  3. The only time I have ever seen querulous used was to describe Zenobia of “Ethan Frome” fame. This marks the second use of querulous in my life, ever.

Leave a Reply

