Films and films.

I’ve fallen into the questionable habit of doing a lot of stuff that I don’t write about. I suppose it’s better than doing nothing and not writing about it, but I don’t know how it compares to doing nothing and writing about it, which is what I usually do ’round these parts, and it’s almost certainly worse than doing a lot and writing about it, which is what I tell myself I’d do if I were independently wealthy. Even though it’s probably a lie.

Anyway. I haven’t been updating the Procrastination Salon, and I’m trying to make up for it now as I take a break from grading overdue response papers. So what have I been up to? Watching lots and lots of movies.

Last weekend, Derek and I went with our friends Gwynne and David to the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival. Derek has been to the festival before, but I never had—in fact, I’d never been to Hot Springs, which is a fun, old-fashioned resort town. We stayed in the historic Arlington Hotel, drank the waters bubbling out the springs (which are, indeed, hot), and saw some amazing films in our short two days there. Highlights were Les Blank’s All In This Tea, about the manufacturing and marketing of artisanal teas in China; A Son’s Sacrifice, a short film about a young Muslim New Yorker’s efforts to take over his father’s halal slaughterhouse; and On a Tightrope, about Uighur orphans in China’s Xinjiang Province who study the art of tightrope walking. All three of these were beautiful movies, definitely worth searching out, but On a Tightrope was my favorite—moving, captivatingly shot, visualizing a struggling culture against some of China’s bleakest landscapes. (The Uighurs are a Muslim ethnic minority in China, but are the majority in Xinjiang, or the Uyghur Autonomous Region, a huge but sparsely populated region in the northwestern part of China, bordering Tibet, Mongolia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, and Kashmir. Thank you Wikipedia.)

On the way back, we stopped at Feltner’s Whatta-Burger, which David promised was the best burger around, and it did not disappoint. madame_urushiol, I thought of you.

Upon our return to Fayetteville, Derek got The Girl and a Gun Film Society’s Annual Film Vault of Horror! Halloween Film Festival going. Here’s the schedule:

Tuesday, October 23

( I N ) H U M A N N A T U R E

6:00
Wendigo (2001), dir. Larry Fessenden

8:00
Ravenous (1999), dir. Antonia Bird

Thursday, October 25

H O M E I S W H E R E Y O U L O S E Y O U R H E A D

6:00
House (1986), dir. Steve Miner

8:00
House II: The Second Story (1987), dir. Ethan Wiley

Friday, October 26

T H E M O N T H L Y V I S I T

12:00
American Werewolf in London (1981), dir. John Landis

2:00
Ginger Snaps (2000), dir. John Fawcett

4:00
The Howling (1981), dir. Joe Dante

Sunday, October 28

S P O O F Y

12:00
Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948), dir. Charles Barton

1:30
The Ghost Breakers (1940), dir. George Marshall

M O R E A L I V E

3:00
Dead Alive (1992), dir. Peter Jackson

5:00
Dellamorte Dellamore (1994), dir. Michele Soavi

S I L E N T B U T D E A D L Y

7:00
Dracula: Pages From A Virgin’s Diary (2002), dir. Guy Maddin

8:30
Nosferatu, A Symphony of Horror (1921), dir. FW Murnau

Monday, October 29

S M E L L Y H O R R O R

6:00
C.H.U.D. (1984), dir. Douglas Cheek

8:00
Street Trash (1987), dir. J. Michael Muro

Tuesday, October 30

M I S S I N G L I N K S

6:00
Trog (1970), dir. Freddie Francis

8:00
Altered States (1980), dir. Ken Russell

Wednesday, October 31

G H O S T S T O R I E S F R O M T H E E A S T

2:00
Kwaidan (1964), dir. Masaki Kobayashi

5:00
A Tale of Two Sisters (2003), dir. Ji Woon-Kim

T H E G R A N D ( G U I G N O L ) F I N A L E

7:00
Equinox (1970), dir. Jack Woods

8:30
Carnival of Souls (1962), dir. Herk Harvey

So far, my favorite film has been Guy Maddin’s Dracula, but I’m the one who specifically requested, nay, demanded Trog (Joan Crawford’s last onscreen performance!), so I’m not calling Best Film just yet.

4 thoughts on “Films and films.

    • And we miss you! The turnout has been kind of disappointing. There are so few people around here who have any concept of what’s totally awesome.

      And YOU be aware that you can send my real life letter to my campus address, since I have no qualms about posting that online:

      Dept of English, Kimpel 333, U of A, Fayetteville AR 72701

      I have some CDs I’ve been meaning to send you, so this will be a real old-fashioned postal exchange, bro.

Leave a Reply

