Flesh-eating marsupials, etc.

The BBC reports that palaeontologists have discovered evidence of prehistoric killer kangaroos in northern Australia:

The flesh-eating marsupial would have lived between 10 and 20 million years ago, scientists say.

The research team has also unearthed evidence of a large carnivorous bird dubbed the “demon duck of doom”.

The dig site in Queensland has yielded remains of at least 20 previously unknown creatures.

This news reminds me of the time I was touring Australia with my sister K, and we went to an alligator ranch that had free-roaming kangaroos and emus that you could chase around with loaves of bread, which we did, gleefully, for hours before the rancher (a hard fellow who fed his alligators mutilated chickens and had a collective six remaining fingers) informed the group that a kangaroo’s defense mechanism is to grab you by the shoulders with its little hands, give a charming little leap, and gut you with its powerful, clawed feet. Disembowelling seems to be the defense of choice among Australian wildlife; cassowaries also specialize in it, apparently.

In other news, it turns out that one can rent a gorgeous, palatial apartment in Cincinnati for free. Seriously. In fact, they will pay you to live in an apartment the size of Manhattan. I had no idea.

Off to Louisville today to see the great Willie Nelson and, if I play my cards right, the Jim Beam distillery.

6 thoughts on “Flesh-eating marsupials, etc.

  1. 1. My friend in Kentucky is, apparently, related to the owners of Jim Beam. I actually believe this, as she has the mildly-odd last name of Noe, which the current owner does as well, according to Wikipedia.

    2. I am inclined to disbelieve everything you say about Australia.

    3. I saw a movie last night which took place in Australia. It was my second time seeing it; it’s a very random, fun movie called He Died With a Felafel in His Hand. I might recommend it.

Leave a Reply

