The meme lurker surfaces.

I confess that for the past couple of days I’ve been lurking about my friends’ Where Were You Back Then and Photos of My Life memes, which are delightful. This morning I suddenly started to feel guilty and voyeuristic for not participating myself. Also, I’m very sleepy this morning (was rudely awakened by Z just as I was making guacamole in the library, and I can’t wake up properly when interrupted at the dramatic climax of my dreams), and can’t think of anything more original to write.

So, grendel031‘s Decades Gone By Meme:

30 years ago: Hmmm. Didn’t exist quite yet.
20 years ago: A skinny kid in a suburb of Rochester, NY, about to turn 9. I had a boyfriend named Steven Sanfilippo, who was even skinnier than I was. For my birthday (one month later) my parents took me and Steven and a few other friends to a Red Wings game, and I had a baseball-shaped cake.
10 years ago: Working as an intern in the editing department of Avon Cosmetics in midtown Manhattan, earning money for my impending junior year abroad at Oxford. I had a boyfriend named B.B., who was even skinnier than I was. We lived in the living room of a 1-bedroom apartment on St. Mark’s Place occupied by his surly older sister. She only tolerated us because her parents paid her rent and they said she had to.
Now: Settling into Fayetteville, AR, about to start my first tenure-track job as a professor of English. I have a boyfriend named Z, who is not quite as skinny as I am. He is secretly sulking because I said I’d be ready to go to the library and get some work done by now and I’m not. But even when he’s annoyed with me beause I wake up late and tired and cranky and then I waste time on my LJ when I should be getting dressed, he still comes by and refreshes my coffee cup.

OK, and for the photo meme, tell me to take and display pictures of stuff that’s not, like, my naked butt, and I will.

4 thoughts on “The meme lurker surfaces.

  1. I love the History of Skinny Boyfriends 🙂

    And one should never be interrupted while making guac in the library. Was he at least dressed as Professor Plum?

    And are you SURE we can’t ask you to display pics of like, your naked butt? Dang. How about the place where you do the most thinking? Bonus points if you’re in it.

  2. 30 years ago: Hmmm. Didn’t exist quite yet.

    [weeps]

    OK, and for the photo meme, tell me to take and display pictures of stuff that’s not, like, my naked butt, and I will.

    Do I even need to put a reply here? Really? Because you know what it’s going to be.

  3. Do you have any stuffed animals? If so, I’d like a picture of your favorite. If not, I’d like a picture of your McSweeney’s collection.

  4. Why, you’re just a baby! What I wouldn’t give to have my 20’s back again…I’d do things right this time, damnit!

    I’d like to see the most “ladylike” thing in your home. 😉

Leave a Reply

