Pics ‘n’ flicks.

I have been trying, with various degrees of success, not to spend my every waking moment screwing around in cyberspace—an endeavor with the unfortunate side effect that, when I check my LJ to see what I’ve been doing lately, it looks like I’ve been doing nothing, nay, that I have ceased to exist. I assure you that I continue to exist in one form or another.

Yesterday Z and I blew off work and drove out to Devil’s Den State Park, where we beheld green, green, and more green. I realized how accustomed I’ve become to encountering sea coast when I drive out into the country when I missed smelling the salt water on the air. But the mountains here are beautiful, and the air smells of more types of green than I can count, some of which I recognized from my upstate New York childhood.


Little lady, big green.


Man surveys mountain.


Can you see the toad?


How about the butterfly?

We rewarded our exertions up the mountain with Mexican lunch specials and margaritas, followed by a long nap, followed by The Women (1939), a bizarre George Cukor flick featuring an all-female cast and starring real-life rivals Norma Shearer and Joan Crawford as, respectively, a jilted society wife and the scheming perfume-counter salesgirl who stole her man. The moral of the story seems to be, in the film’s final words, that “pride” is “a luxury a woman in love can’t afford,” but if you can stomach the inanity of that sentiment it’s well worth watching for the costumes, oh the magnificently preposterous costumes, particularly the hats. No woman completely devoid of pride would wear such things; she would disintegrate beneath the weight of their absurdity. I also enjoyed the sequence on the Divorce Train to Reno (I asked Z if we could get married so we could get divorced so I could take a ride on the Divorce Train), and recognizing Marjorie Main (who plays Katie the Maid in Meet Me in St. Louis (1944)) and young Virginia Weidler (who plays the plucky Dinah in one of Cukor’s next projects, the triumphant The Philadelphia Story (1940)).

Other recent evening screenings include All About Eve (1950), which Z had never seen, and the more recent Junebug (2005), a gentle domestic drama, captivatingly acted, even by Ben McKenzie, a.k.a. Ryan Atwood.

I’ve been reading, too, but reviews will have to wait till later. I have, like, work to do.

20 thoughts on “Pics ‘n’ flicks.

  1. I LOVE Junebug. I think it’s one of my all-time favorite movies, maybe because that situation could have been taken from my own life but also just because it’s a nice, well-made piece of flick.

  2. Upstate NY WHERE? (if that’s too nosey, tell me to MMOB)

    Also – re The Women . I’ve seen that movie a couple of times. I love the scene where Joan Crawford’s character is taking a bath. It does show the absolute tackiness of her character, doesn’t it? I love Roz Russell in that movie, too. (But I think I loved her in any movie she ever did!)

    Marjorie Main was also “Ma Kettle” – if anyone ever asks you that little bit of trivia, now you know.

    BEAUTIFUL SCENERY.

  3. I’m always shocked to learn that there are people who haven’t seen All About Eve or other films that I seem to have always known about. I once discovered that one of my sisters had never seen Casablanca, if you can imagine that!

  4. WAAAAHHHH!

    I can’t see the toad!

    Just don’t watch Dr. T and the Women. Ever. There will be eye-poking and worse. ISG will pale in comparison. Don’t. Ever.

    • Re: WAAAAHHHH!

      Is that the Altman movie with Richard Gere? I’ve never watched it because I can’t stand Richard Gere. Does that make me odd? I don’t like his squinty little eyes.

      • Re: WAAAAHHHH!

        It’s probably Altman, although I didn’t stay on IMDB long enough to check. It’s this one, and honestly? I don’t really prefer him either. I watched it because it had a cast of thousands of women I really liked. How could it be bad? (I asked myself) Well, it was. It was absolutely awful. I mean mind-numbingly horrendous.

        And the worst part?

        At the very end, you actually see someone give birth. It was vomitastic.

      • Re: WAAAAHHHH!

        At the very end, you actually see someone give birth.

        Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Ew ew ew.

        (Have you seen Margaret Cho’s bit on witnessing a friend’s childbirth in Cho Revolution? It’s hilarious.)

      • Re: WAAAAHHHH!

        I don’t like his squinty eyes, either. He was great in Chicago, though. Not in anything else that I can recall.

    • No vistas like that, I’m afraid, but some of the flora must be the same. I kept getting whiffs of backyard exploring around a Penfield in development.

      My favorite Rochester-area hike was at Chimney Bluffs on Lake Ontario. But that hike is blue (on a good day), not green…

Leave a Reply

