Hello, Arkansas.

Following four days of driving, Z and I arrived intact in Fayetteville a couple days ago. Our apartment is not yet ready, so we are camping out on the floor of another apartment for a few days, which I guess is fine since the truck bearing all of our worldly possessions won’t be here until Saturday.

If you’ve never driven through the mountains of Western Arkansas, which I hadn’t until two days ago, you are really missing out. I can’t believe I live in such a beautiful part of the world.

I thought of you, madame_urushiol, as we drove past Russellville. We’re officially neighbors now!

I don’t really have any stories right now. To be honest, I’m kind of exhausted and disoriented and disinclined to write. But I can report some updates on the procrastination front, which, of course, is why we’re all here:

If you use Firefox, I highly recommend installing the Stumble Upon plugin. It streamlines and organizes the process of random websurfing so that you can really go all day looking up stuff you never knew you needed to know. I have stumbled across many sites that are now at the top of my Favorites list, including:

PollyGlotto: A digital woman translates your text from English into a number of other languages and speaks them aloud. In other words, you can spend hours making Polly say dirty things in everything from Dutch to Chinese.

FullBooks: An eclectic archive of free full-text online books.

The Online Karaoke Machine: This one speaks for itself. If this site does not change your life, then you and I are not living on the same planet. Incidentally, it was here that I discovered that I have been singing Men at Work’s classic tune “Down Under” wrong since I was, like, born. Apparently, the chorus goes, “You better run / You better take cover,” whereas I always sang “You better run / You better take a bus.” I maintain that my version still makes sense. Z thinks I am insane.

And this just in: Pee-Wee’s Playhouse is coming back to TV! The Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim will begin airing the complete run of episodes on June 10, including the amazing Pee-Wee’s Playhouse Christmas Special, which we watched about once a week, year-round, in my house when I was growing up. Of course, I already own every episode of Pee-Wee’s Playhouse on DVD, so I’m really more excited about the principle of the thing. I firmly believe that a world that televises Pee-Wee’s Playhouse is a better world for all.

8 thoughts on “Hello, Arkansas.

  1. Welcome neighbor! 😉 You and Z have officially DOUBLED the collective State IQ simply by showing up, and believe me, I thank you. We’ll definitely have to meet once you guys get settled. Mick and I will be in San Francisco from the 16th – 23rd of the month, but the rest of the summer looks pretty mellow.
    I’m so glad Z is with you this time!

    Love the links. Did you know you can make Polly ‘follow the fly’ with your curser? I especially like making her do loops… 😉

  2. So have you learned to say any interesting dirty things in Dutch?

    I’ll have to consider your suggestion of travelling through the mountains there. Photography opportunities are always welcome.

  3. I’m constantly surprised and smiling at the nature around Fayetteville. I continually try to convince people back home (California) how nice it is here. Alas, I still get the, “why the hell’d you move to Arkansas?”, followed by the, “why would you want to leave California?” (the center of the universe, of course).

    Glad to have you around. If you need anything, have any questions, etc., let me know and I can do my best for you.

  4. I had to go to Russellville for a deposition a couple of years ago! (and this is really weird–I was just writing my entry and talking about this particular wrongful-death case, and I almost wrote, “that case on which I had to go to Russellville, Arkansas, that time,” and then took it out because that was from a time when I wasn’t posting and nobody would have known what I was talking about and it would have just been boring. And then I look at my friends page and there Russellville is! how often does THAT happen, specifically vis-a-vis Russellville, Arkansas?) And last year I had to go to Fort Smith for a week to review a bunch of documents in a warehouse. Russellville is really pretty. Fort Smith is somewhat less so, but there were a bunch of us there from several different offices of my firm and it was kind of like summer camp and we ended up having a blast.

Leave a Reply

