Quickie.

Here’s the problem with being a bandwidth pirate: oftentimes, for no acceptable reason, your neighbors shut down their wireless router, and then you have to leave the house and go wandering the streets in search of a signal, so you end up at the cafe on Hope Street where the signal only works sometimes, and even if it is working, as it is today, because you were forced to leave the house before consuming any coffee, you forgot to bring your power cord, so you only have 28 minutes to use the precious internet, which is only just enough time to inform everybody who bothers to read your LJ what a freaking moron you are.

I am so mad at my neighbors right now.

Did I mention that I’m officially receiving my Ph.D. tomorrow? Well, I am, which means that an entire day of my life is to be swallowed by Brown University’s absurdly baroque commencement ceremonies. Plus they address all the graduates in Latin so all your family and friends know how much smarter you are than they. It’s quite touching.

Did I also mention that the boy from the Religion department on whom I had a crush for many years of grad school went and won the dissertation prize for which I was nominated? Bastard. He owes me dinner.

I know I promised an update on Glitter Wednesday, and it is forthcoming on isawglitter. But I left my notes at home with my power cord, so my resources are running low on all fronts. For now, I’ll just say that if people show up at your house bearing strawberry champagne, X-Rated Fusion Liqueur, and two phallic bottles of Verdi Raspberry Sparkletini, even or maybe especially if they claim to be your friends, do not let them pass the threshold. They mean you harm.

Okay, my computer is dying now. I’m audi.

4 thoughts on “Quickie.

  1. I’m glad you are getting your Doctorate officially.

    I do, however, think that too many people are getting doctorates and watering down the system, without even having a good, high quality, British education. What the hell? I blame you. Blah! 😛

Leave a Reply

