I knew that magic flute was trouble.

If I were the kind of person who cracks callous jokes about painful and untimely deaths, I’d respond to the news that former child star Jack Wild has succumbed to mouth cancer by saying let this be a lesson to children everywhere never to put a talking phallus named Freddy in your mouth, even (or especially) if it claims to be “magic.”

But, of course, I’m not. Rest in peace, Jimmy.

Those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about have never watched Sid and Marty Krofft’s H.R. Pufnstuf, which is probably for the best.

10 thoughts on “I knew that magic flute was trouble.

  1. What a gem of entertainment history… Didn’t know that, but got all into it now. Guest appearances at CHIPS and a feature length film with ‘Mama’ Cass, how cool is that πŸ™‚

    Cooler than cancer, anyway… 😦

    • I’ve noticed your icons. πŸ™‚ I missed it as a kid, but bought the complete series on DVD after Z started describing it to me. I love it too.

  2. Oh crap…that’s the last nail in the coffin of my childhood. I LOVED that show, and used to pretend to be Jimmy to the point where I woudln’t answer to any other name. Probably explains a lot, no? πŸ˜‰

    Rest in Peace, Jimmy…

  3. I saw in your comments that you’d picked it up on DVD. I’d been wondering– I think you’re too young to remember it on TV! I remember it well, though.

Leave a Reply

