As I thaw.

I am in Providence, where our apartment has recently performed this amazing feat: in perfect timing with the plummeting, two days ago, of the outside temperature into the single digits, both the boiler self-destructed, leaving us with no hot water, and the heat shut down, leaving us with no, um, heat. Ta da!

So I think it’s fair to say that it’s even bigger of me than usual that I managed to pry myself out from under the covers this morning. I’m now sitting in the Hope Street Cafe, unshowered, over-layered, pouring caffeine into my bewildered body.

12 thoughts on “As I thaw.

  1. yikes! We were just talking last night about what to do if our furnace died (I think it was -10 last night). I can’t imagine how miserably cold you guys must be! Are you leaving the water on so the pipes don’t freeze?

    {{{{{{warm}}}}}} vibes

  2. Eeek! Sending wishes for a warming trend! You win second place in the “Cold Stories” sweepstakes–right behind Mick’s partner, who slipped on the ice yesterday morning and snapped his ankle; requiring surgery that included steel rods and plates.

  3. I don’t know how long you’re in town (I just got back), but it’s always warm in my house and you’re always welcome here. It’s very quiet during the day as I have the place to myself and am generally puttering around working. So if you need to come in from the cold and hole up someplace comfy with your laptop, remember, I’m just down the street.

    • That’s the kindest offer I’ve received since ‘s pot of tea! If I were still in town I’d take you up on it, but I flew back to Philly today. I took the Longest Shower Ever when I got home.

      So you must be home from your cruise! Do you wish you were still out there? 🙂

Leave a Reply

