Mysterious skin, indeed.

Am I a creepy old lady just because I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt?

I never really watched Third Rock from the Sun, though the few times I did, I noted both that it was pretty funny and that That Kid Is Cute. He proved himself similarly sweet in 10 Things I Hate About You, though it wasn’t an opportunity for him to prove his cinematic chops or anything. But I always suspected that one day this boy a.) would emerge a breathtakingly beautiful young hunk-a hunk-a burning something, and b.) might turn out to be a pretty good actor, too. Well, I just watched Mysterious Skin, in which both wishes come true.

The cutest little delinquents in Kansas!
Mysterious Skin kids

A beautiful film, based on an acclaimed novel, which in addition to a hot young Joey features Elizabeth Shue as his equally hot mom and Michelle Trachtenberg as a sinfully adorable punked-out little teenage fag hag. But enough about the film. What I want to know is this: Is Joseph Gordon-Levitt hapa?

Is he? Or isn’t he?
Mysterious Skin close-up

I am actually not the first person to pose this question. A little digging around the internet revealed a thread in LJ’s own halfasians community (who knew?) on this very issue. Unfortunately, no one could provide any definitive answers. I suppose some beautiful boys were simply made to inhabit mysterious skins. But let me just say this: We all know that Keanu Reeves is the original Hottest Little Hapa in the Biz, right? Well check out these two broody boy-peas in a pod:

Keanu Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Oooooooooh I could just eat them off the screen.

I suppose now’s as good a time as any to plug Kip Fulbeck’s The Hapa Project. Check it out.

7 thoughts on “Mysterious skin, indeed.

  1. He is gorgeous! I thought Mysterious Skin was really well done, but the rape scene made me feel ill and cry a whole bunch and I had to forward it. My fiance demanded that I stopped watching it (he was doing something else and just saw me becoming hysterical). So… I’m not sure if it was worth it for me.

  2. I really liked Mysterious Skin and, as I am about to ask on my own journal, would it be terribly inappropriate for me to add you to my friendslist, or whatever the most accurate way of saying that it?

    • Friend away, Justin. I’m off to Arkansas after this year, so chances are I’ll never be responsible for grading you again. And you’re definitely someone from Haverford I’d like to keep in touch with.

Leave a Reply

